(nearly) No More Tears

October 18, 2006 at 2:37 pm 2 comments

I’ve been busy.  After years of hearing about it, I finally read Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmerman.  If you haven’t read it, and you are a knitter, READ IT!  In fact, I would recommend it for any crafter, just translate her advice to your craft.  See, I had always been a VERY tight knitter, but she made a good point to me.  Tight knitters tend to have a lot of pain; cramps, aches, shooting pains.  It’s also a bad way to regulate tension.  So she said, “loosen up, who cares if it’s ugly at first, if you don’t like knitting, don’t do it.  Don’t let it be the boss of you.”  Well, guess what?  I LIKE knitting!  I haven’t done as much as I would like though because of how painful it was for me.  So I decided to beat the knitting at it’s own game and picked up some yarn to just run a swatch in the round and use it for practice knitting loose.  This is what it turned into:

It’s a sweater for Gabriella!  Just because it turned out to be her width.  I’ve really had a good time doing this, I can actually zone out, it has become a relaxing activity and fast and painless!  Here’s one of the sleeves:

These were yesterday afternoon.  Since I had decided that I was making a sweater, I had a secret plan for it.  See, now that I am enjoying knitting so much, I am getting pretty ambitious!  This is what it looks like now:

Yep, that’s some color in there you see! 

Now, I know that a lot of people call this Fair Isle knitting, but my understanding is I am using a Norweigan color pattern so it’s not Fair Isle.  So, until somebody provides me with proof that it’s Fair Isle or tells me what it is, I using the generic term of ‘stranded’.  So. There.  Oh and just to show off:

Now, my photography is not all that great, but I would like to point out that my carried threads are pretty darned neat.  How did I accomplish this so early in my stranded knitting career you ask?  Well, it has a lot to do with my whole knitting looser forays.  See, part of the reason I was knitting too tight was that I was holding the yarn in my right hand.  So, to learn to knit loose and fast, I switched to holding it in my left.  The advantage?  I now know how to knit carrying yarn in either hand.  Now, for you knitting novices out there, this means that I can carry a color in each hand, so I don’t have to pick up and drop yarn for each color change, God how tedious that would be!  It also means that instead of having to pay attention to one staying over and one staying under, they automatically stay that way!  Hence the pretty wrong side!

So there ya go!  I should be finished by the end of the day, and then maybe I will get back to the longies that I started soooo long ago.  By the way, look at this:

Yes, that’s those damned longies that have been trying to beat me for nearly 2 months now!  We got a new couch and when we were trying to move it in I knocked a cup of coffee onto it!  My poor hubby was left holding the couch as I dove for it and ran it to the kitchen to rinse it.  Stupid me turned the water on HOT!  It doesn’t look like I killed it though.  So there it is straining the wet out because I didn’t have time to squeeze and roll it.  Oh, and this is being knit in the old tight knitting so that sucks now. 

Entry filed under: Knitting, Maroon/Cream Ski Sweater, Test Longies.

Wow! Norwegian Ski Sweaters

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mamadeb  |  October 18, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    I normally knit loosely anyway, but I’ve been consciously relaxing my hands as I knit for the past few weeks, and it’s made a huge difference. This is since reading Knit Fix, where they said to “not fight your knitting. If it’s too hard to do [lace techniques], you’re knitting too tight.”

    My hands don’t hurt as much (I have carpal tunnel and wear a brace when I sleep) and the knitting itself not only looks better, with a more even tension, but my lace is now both prettier and easier to do.

    It’s a tremendous thing, isn’t it?

  • 2. Shelli  |  October 19, 2006 at 8:32 am

    It’s wonderful! I think I’ll put that on my list for the next time I am at the library.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

  • 3,322
Red scarf Project 2007

