This Isn’t Knitting ;)

October 24, 2006 at 4:11 pm 2 comments

But it’s still a craft in my book.  Sometimes I go on these cooking binges.  I’ll find something great and make it every day for a week.  This is this week’s:    Sopapillas  They are scrumptious.  Especially hot.  And so frakkin’ easy it’s not funny.  Now, I just need to find out what the law is here regarding oven hood venting.  Ours doesn’t vent anywhere.  It’s one of those built-in microwave/oven vent combos.  You know, normally you open the cabinet over the microwave and there is a tube going through for the vent?  You open ours and no vent.  I can’t believe that this is legal and plan to find out.  Plus, sopapillas are quite the smoky endeavor when you don’t own a deep fryer.

On a funnier note, this week’s cooking mishap:    Do you see what’s wrong with my pinto beans?  I let them soak too long and now they are growing.  Silly me.

Only small bits of knitting this week, I had hoped to be done with the longies tomorrow, but I’m sick and Gabriella tried to eat them so they need to dry off, AGAIN!  I’m just getting a row in here and there on the purple/white sweater.  I have already decided on my next 2 personal projects:  another sweater for Gabriella, this time with corrugated ribbing, because that’s a new technique to me and looks like fun, and I picked this, for myself.  I don’t often knit for myself at all, so I thought it was time to do something for me.  I’m going to Williamsburg for vacation in December and I think we are going to have a few nice dinners and the only dress I have that I can nurse in is a halter so I need something to go over it.  Although a shawl would make more sense, I’m having some shape issues since the baby, and this will work with the dress to accentuate what I do have.  Hmmm…. this is something to think about.

 I really need to pick up Myriam’s costume, there isn’t much to do, but at this point I see myself sewing at midnight Sunday night.

Entry filed under: Cooking, Knitting, Purple/White Ski Sweater, Sewing, Test Longies.

Knitting Baby DONATE BLOOD!!!!!!!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rebecca  |  October 31, 2006 at 2:41 pm

    I did the same with navy beans yesterday…turned out ok. I later caught a cupcake on fire so that sort of stole the cooking mishap show.

  • 2. Shelli  |  October 31, 2006 at 2:47 pm

    They were mold too, I didn’t realize it when I took the pic 😦

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

  • 3,322
Red scarf Project 2007

