Re-Do

November 7, 2006 at 4:57 pm Leave a comment

I got to redo the yarn dying escapade from the other day.  I’m a hugely pleased with the results. 

Skittles

(my husband says I’m going to get sued, but it’s for personal use so whatever)

At first, I was really worried about how badly it looked like the red muddied it all up, but I think it is going to knit up very cool.  I LOVE how the green and blue worked together and cannot wait to do one of just those two.  I’m thinking of replacing the red with yellow too, but I am worried about finding a decent yellow dye formula.  You ever notice how little yarn you see yellow?  Here’s another picture since that one shows very little blue, but about half the skein is blue. 

 

I really beat up the skein when I dyed it, so I had to rewind a mess after:

Took me nearly 2 hours to wind that.

Here’s my 5 yr old trying to prevent the baby from eating my yarn, which is exactly what she is trying to do.

On the knitting front I have been working on Clapotis like mad and am about 1/3 of the way through the straight rows.  It’s going slower than I expected because the twisted stitches really slow me down.  They just break it up so much. 

The Skittles yarn is going to be used for a hat in the pattern I am working on for Gabriella to go with her new longies.  I just can’t figure out what to do with the longies color-wise.  Any idea?  I want them to match the hat, but I just don’t know how to accomplish that.

Entry filed under: Clapotis, Hand-dyed, Longies, Patterns, Yarn.

Thoughts I Wasn’t Going to Post Today

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

  • 3,322
Red scarf Project 2007

